Why should I blog about food?

I’ve had a love/hate relationship with food my entire life. I love it. I love working with it. I love creating things. I love all forms of macaroni and cheese anyone will ever create (as long as no peas are involved). But I’ve always been susceptible to those annoying extra pounds, so I feel guilty when I indulge in my love for food.

Right now, though, I spend my free time at work perusing food blogs and gathering mouthwatering recipes to try out (whenever I make it to my mom’s house and steal her kitchen). Why not?

I’m online 8 hours a day, 5 days a week, but I don’t have Internet at my house, so I won’t be able to post as many pictures as I’d like. But I shall. Because it seems fun.

A little more about me: I’m a 21-year-old sort of college student. I live with one of my best friends and my black cat Sophie in a house in Texas. I no longer eat solely Ramen and Easy Mac like I did during dorm life, but my cooking is still vague and haphazard at times. I like using convenience items. Well, it’s not so much that I’m crazy about the taste of convenience items, it’s just that my kitchen is not quite as well-equipped as I wish it was. My car payment outweighs my cooking fetish in importance.

I have odd, childish tastes, but I’m trying to teach myself to be more like a true grownup. Ha ha!

Here are some random things I enjoy doing.

  • After I make a package of oriental-flavored ramen, I like to add a spoonful of peanut butter and a sprinkling of sesame seeds. Then, when I eat it, I get the soupy peanut butter goo all over my clothes and face, but it’s oh so worth it.
  • Buying ready-made pie crusts and pudding and making PUDDING PIES!
  • Adding diced tomatoes and green peppers to ANYTHING.
  • Make microwave eggs (sounds gross, but it isn’t if you do it right) with a few spoonfuls of cream cheese, some sugar (or splenda) and some cinnamon. Melt some butter on top. Eat. Enjoy. Mmmm.

On my lunch break I sneaked over to Tuesday Morning and bought myself a Christmas present – a 3-piece Wilton baking pan set (finally I have a springform pan!), The Whole Foods Market Cookbook, and some black currant jelly.

Tonight will be fun.

Anyway, I’m going to start writing random things about food and the odd things I create. I’ll add new categories as I make more stuff. You’ll see.

1 Response to “Why should I blog about food?”


  1. 1 noshthoughts November 22, 2006 at 3:26 am

    The peanut-butter sesame raman noodle thing is … perfect. Why have I never thought of it? ;)

    Welcome to the wonderful world of food-blogging!


Leave a Reply

