Maple Shortbread Bars

When I went grocery shopping before Thanksgiving, I bought all the fixins for the maple shortbread bars featured on The Sour Dough. I like that they’re from a 1968 cookbook and the recipe is so ridiculously simple… Just make flour, sugar and butter into a shortbread crust, bake it awhile, cook some coconut and maple syrup together on the stovetop for awhile, pour it over the shortbread, then bake it some more.

I like the crumbly shortbread (though I prefer something chewy, this was yummy too), and the maple syrup/coconut stuff is… mmmm. In need of second thru eighteenth opinions, I shared with my roommate (who banged on my door and proclaimed that I did well) and my coworkers. My boyfriend isn’t a big fan of flaked coconut, but he ate one anyway (I didn’t force him, I promise). Probably because they look nice.

Here is the internal IM dialogue with one of my coworkers:

Josh says:
I think you should add crushed pecans!
Traci says:
oh, that would be good.
Traci says:
Or slivered toasted almonds.
Josh says:
mmmmmm

Josh also suggested that I

  1. cover them in chocolate
  2. drizzle syrup on them
  3. Make them into an omelet

Kevin, however, wrote a poem about the maple shortbread bars.

Traci’s Maple bars and DP to drink,
That is the finest of breakfasts I think;
When I’m grown up and can have what I please
I think I shall always insist upon these.
What do YOU choose when you’re offered a treat?
When Mother says, “What would you like best to eat?”
Is it waffles and syrup, or cinnamon toast?
It’s Traci’s good maple bars I love the most!
–KEVIN

All in all, I’d seriously think about using these bars for the holidays in some manner. I do think almonds would be great – and/or heath toffee chunks. And the recipe is so ridiculously simple – I absolutely adore its simplicity.

I’ve also been experimenting with making no-bake oatmeal cookies (not chocolate, though). Last night I finally got the right consistency, but I think they’re entirely too sweet. I melted sugar and cinnamon in a little water, then mixed in toffee bits, coconut and oatmeal. Sweet overload.

Check out the Christmas present I bought for myself on eBay…..Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I had it shipped to my parents’ house, and I’m going over there after work to retrieve it and check out this donut creation process. I’m unnaturally excited about this!

1 Response to “Maple Shortbread Bars”


  1. 1 String Cheese November 28, 2006 at 9:02 pm

    I might persuade you to not add any type of pecans or almonds to the maple bars. I love the coconut and would hate to see it spoiled by this so called “good idea.” I don’t like pecans or almonds but then again, it may be a good thing. If you do decide to make the maple bars with them, I can finally stop shoving them in my mouth~! You sometimes can be evil, cheese on a stick. I know you don’t mean to, but you feed my desire for junk food more so than the daily passing of fast food restaurants and convenient stores filled with candy bars and ice cream. However, I’m certainly not suggesting you to quit because, how else would I fulfill my craving to eat tasty treats such as these maple bars?


Leave a Reply

