Baked custard fun

Today, Randi (my sister) and I were flipping through some old cookbooks I’ve recently acquired and found a recipe we were determined to try – baked caramel custard. Sounded easy enough…

First, I caramelized the sugar. Unfortunately, I burned myself along the way.

Never touch caramelizing sugar, says Mr. Potato Scrubby!

I don’t have any ramekins, so we poured our caramel into a 2 quart baking dish (we had 1 and 2, but no 1.5. Grrr).

We replaced half of the milk with Creme Brulee flavored coffee creamer, mostly because we didn’t want to use all of my niece’s “white milk.”

Almost smelled so good I wanted to drink it… but I held back.

Both myself and my sister have problems with leaving things alone while they’re baking. Here, Randi takes a sneak peek at the custard.

After we removed the custard from its hot water bath in the oven, this is what it looked like – and it slid around in the caramelized sugar like crazy.

So we cut it into circles and drizzled the caramel syrup on top of and around it…

And our mother approved!

I’ve always wanted to make custard, and it wasn’t disappointing. We added a little almond extract along with the vanilla, which was a nice flavor, but we think we cooked it too long – the bottom (or top, after we inverted it) was a little too brown. The custard had a nice texture, but it was too thin – if I had ramekins, I’d definitely use those instead.

Baked Caramel Custard

Caramelize 1/2 cup of sugar. Pour a little into each custard cup (or whatever you’re making the custard in). Move cups about so that caramel will coat sides. When caramel is hard, fill cups with custard.

Beat slighty to mix…
2 eggs
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt

Scald 2 cups milk. Stir into egg mixture. Add 1/2 teaspoon vanilla if desired.

Pour into 6 custard cups or a 1 1/2 quart baking dish and set in pan of hot water (1 inch deep). Bake at 350 degrees for 45 to 50 minutes or just until silver knife inserted 1″ from edge comes out clean (soft center sets as it stands). Immediately remove from heat. Serve cool or chilled in same cups on dessert plates, or unmold and serve.

– Betty Crocker’s Picture Cookbook, 1956

3 Responses to “Baked custard fun”


  1. 1 Randi December 11, 2006 at 5:08 pm

    Yay for custard. One day we shall have Ramekins.

  2. 2 Scoop December 13, 2006 at 8:33 pm

    Sounds really good. Do you think the substiting of Creme Brulee flavored coffee creamer for some of the milk affected the custard? I like you blog, but I have found myself wondering whether you even went back to some of your previous recipes and did things differently. Maybe you need “recipe update” bulletins. I’d hate to think you only cooked these great things once!

  3. 3 cheeseonastick December 13, 2006 at 9:00 pm

    Oh, I’m sure it affected the flavor. My sister and I are really bad about substitutions, though, and we usually eat whatever crazy concoction we create, so it didn’t phase us.

    I haven’t gone back to any previous recipes yet because I very recently started this blog, and I work full time. I intend to go back and re-try most of the stuff I make that doesn’t turn out right. I just haven’t had the chance yet. There’s something a little too satisfying about trying new recipes; it kind of ensnares me.

    Unfortunately I have to fund my baking fetish with an 8-5 desk job, so for now I’m trying new things, noting where I went wrong and planning to go back at some point to rectify them.

    Thanks for the advice!


Leave a Reply

