Rachael Ray’s Vegetarian Chickpea Burgers

So, I like vegetarian recipes. I do. I mean, I eat meat – I like hamburgers. I like pepperoni pizza. Ham can be divine. Chicken too, when cooked right. I just don’t enjoy COOKING meat, which is something I hope to grow out of soon. I hate touching raw meat, worrying about whether it’s done enough, etc. But we’ve already been over this.

Yesterday I felt like cooking. Instead of going to the gym, I found this recipe for Rachael Ray’s Vegetarian Chickpea Burgers and decided to try them.

What I love about recipes like this are their flexibility – you can make them as fancy schmancy or as simple as you want. I opted for the cheap hamburger buns, but at the very least I spray-buttered and garlic-powdered them and then stuck them under the broiler for a few minutes. However, these burgers would be AWESOME with some homemade buns, or expensive whole grain buns. You could experiment with various cheeses, and SPICES. I like to arbitrarily add spices to things, and the thing I love about these is I can actually taste them and season to taste before cooking.

I substituted olive oil for the vegetable oil in this recipe. Oh, how I love olive oil.

As a result of my chickpea burger experiment…

I am pretty excited about trying more vegetarian recipes. The thing is, when I tell people that, they assume I’m going to stop eating meat. Not true. I’ll eat meat, as long as I don’t have to cook it. Then they tell me they know a vegetarian who is either too fat or too thin; overly fed on cheese and bread or the victim of severe malnutrition. Here’s the thing: I DO NOT CARE. Isn’t it possible for people to eat vegetarian food simply because they like the flavor combinations, or the lure of trying something new and different?

An aside:

I haven’t been writing much, but I’ve been baking a lot. I’m on a retro bend – I’m digging recipes out of my ’56 Betty Crocker cookbook and making chocolate layer cake, white layer cake, a delicious brown-sugar based (and ridiculously but wonderfully intense) frosting. The results haven’t been too pretty, but I’m trucking. After I master the art of a simple 2-layer frosted cake, maybe I’ll move on to decorating.

Or maybe I’ll just eat way too much cake.

Until next time, my friends, in which I would love to guarantee some compelling photography (but do not know whether I can follow through)!

3 Responses to “Rachael Ray’s Vegetarian Chickpea Burgers”


  1. 1 Indyshelly January 21, 2007 at 7:04 am

    I’m the SAME way with meat! I think it smells gross and HATE to touch it! I guess that may be why I bake so much. But yes I still eat it, though I roasted a chicken not to long ago and felt bad about it…sad headless little bird. But damn he tasted good!

  2. 2 Indyshelly January 21, 2007 at 7:06 am

    One more thing…if you find a good black bean burger recipe I am looking for one!!!

  3. 3 Sara January 25, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    Sounds delicious, I’ve marked that one to try. We are cutting down on our consumption of meat at my house (I am developing all sorts of issues about eating meat) and I think we are eating better and a much wider variety too. My husband doesn’t even complain anymore!


Leave a Reply

