I’ll see you at the farmers market!

Would you believe that until Saturday, I’d never been to a farmers market? When I lived in Fayetteville, Arkansas, I heard many tales about its awesome farmers market, but I never got to go – I was a weekend manager at a bakery, meaning I worked through the farmers market hours each weekend. Now that I’m back in Texarkana and have normal 8-5 working hours, my Saturday mornings are free to peruse new potatoes at the farmers market. And so I did.

Casey and I left the house before 8 a.m. and started with a couple of garage sales. I got a knife set for $3 (I finally have good knives! Oh joy, oh joy!) and we found Casey an old La-Z-Boy recliner. It’s orange. Bright, garish orange. We’ll have to do something about that pretty soon.

Anyway, I spent $16 at the farmers market and came back with: banana peppers, habanero peppers, 3 lbs. new potatoes, a jar of local honey, culinary lavender, green beans and a free cookbook. I am in love. I also got to eat the following things: a peanut butter/cornflake cookie, new potatoes with parmesan and rosemary, and a lavender cinnamon cookie. Awesome.

I can’t wait to get more locally grown fruits and veggies as the season changes. I just had to share my excitement. Adios.

0 Responses to “I’ll see you at the farmers market!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

