Tuna burgers!

My pantry is almost empty. My refrigerator is peppered with condiments and an economy package of eggs. I’m broke, I don’t want Totino’s pizza, and Casey doesn’t love ramen quite as much as I do.

My solution? Tuna burgers. I normally eat tuna mixed with mayo, but Casey finds mayo particularly disgusting, so I threw all of this into a bowl:

  • 1 can of tuna, drained (6 oz., whatever brand/packing method you prefer)
  • 1/4 cup Stovetop Chicken Stuffing, uncooked
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • Ground red pepper, salt and onion powder to taste
  • 1 tablespoon spicy mustard

It’s one of those recipes that isn’t really a recipe – it’s a loose set of guidelines you can use to come up with something you really like. If I’d had fresh veggies at my disposal, I would have sauteed some in olive oil and used them. It’s very tentative – I ran back and forth from bowl to pantry to fridge, adding things as I saw fit. Which means that if you decide to make something like this, do it your own way. If it’s dry, add some liquid. Too wet? Add something substantive. Like mayo? Toss some in.

I made 3 patties from the mixture and pan-fried them in olive oil over medium heat until the outsides were a deep golden brown in color. Then, we topped each with a slice of American cheese and ate them on hamburger buns – I had mine with mayo, Casey had his with mustard and ketchup.

0 Responses to “Tuna burgers!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

